TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to: Executive
Date: 29 June 2015
Report for: Decision

Report of: Chief Executive

Report Title

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE TO OUTSIDE AND INDEPENDENT BODIES

Summary

To agree the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions.

Recommendation(s)

- 1. That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies set out in the Appendix to this report.
- 2. That the Chief Executive be delegated authority, in consultation with the Leader of the Council and Opposition Group Leader(s) if necessary, to appoint members to any outside body vacancy that remains or arises after the meeting and to any additional bodies to which the Executive may be required to make appointment(s).

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Ian Cockill

Extension: 1387

Background Papers: None.

TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

PERSONS NOMINATED - 2015/16

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE

Organisation		Number of		2015/16
		Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		Nominations
		•	OOM.EAD.ED	Councillor(s)
1	Age UK (Trafford)	2	2:0:0	Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris John Lamb
2	Altrincham and Sale Chamber of Commerce	1 (plus 1 Deputy)	1:0:0	Jonathan Coupe Deputy: Chris Boyes
3	Amey / Trafford Strategic Board	3	2:1:0	Sean Anstee John Reilly 1 Labour nominee tbc
4	Bollin Valley Scheme Steering Committee	2 (plus 2 Deputies)	2:0:0	John Reilly Chris Candish Deputies: Michael Young Mrs. Patricia Young
5	Bridgewater Canal Trust	1	1:0:0	Rob Chilton
6	Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (3 year appointment)	1	1:0:0	Paul Lally
7	Citizens' Advice Trafford	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans
8	Early Years and Childcare Advisory Forum	3	2:1:0	Miss Linda Blackburn Michael Hyman <mark>Jane Baugh</mark>
9	Greater Manchester Accessible Transport Ltd. – Ring and Ride Steering Group	1	1:0:0	Rob Chilton
10	Greater Manchester Forests Partnership	Executive Member(s) for Planning and Environment	2:0:0	Michael Young John Reilly
11	Greater Manchester West Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust –	1	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell
	Council of Governors (3 year appointment)			(until June 2017)
12	Groundwork, Manchester, Salford, Stockport, Tameside and Trafford	1 local authority Nominated Trustee	1:0:0	Nathan Evans
		plus		
		1 Company member	1:0:0	Alan Mitchell

Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2015/16 Nominations
		Required	OON.EAD.ED	Councillor(s)
13	Larkhill Centre Community Association – General Committee	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Laura Evans
14	LGA - Urban Commission	2	2:0:0	Dan Bunting Mrs. Viv Ward
15	LGA - Rural Commission	2 (either 2 Members or 1 Member & 1Officer)	2:0:0	Bernard Sharp* Mrs. Viv Ward * has the Council's vote on the Commission
16	Local Strategic Partnership	2 (plus Chief Executive)	2:0:0	Sean Anstee John Lamb
17	Manchester Airport Consultative Committee	3 (plus 1 Deputy)	2:1:0	Bernard Sharp Michael Whetton Phil Gratrix
				Deputy: Nathan Evans
18	Manchester South Valuation Tribunal – Local Appointment Panel	1 officer		Director of Legal and Democratic Services
19	Mersey Valley Joint Committee	4 (plus 4 named Deputies)	3:1:0 (Agreed 2:2:0)	(i) Chris Boyes (ii) Rob Chilton (iii) Phil Gratrix (iv) Mike Freeman
				Named Deputies (for the above) (i) Jonathan Coupe (ii) Dan Bunting (iii) Dolores O'Sullivan (iv) Dave Jarman
20	North West Cultural Consortium	1	1:0:0	Matthew Sephton
21	North West Reserve Forces and Cadets Association (NWRFCA)	1	1:0:0	Jonathan Coupe
22	North West Sound Archive Committee Meeting	1	1:0:0	Paul Lally
23	3	1 (plus	1:0:0	John Reilly
	Outside London (PATROL) Adjudication Joint Committee / Bus Lane Adjudication Service Joint Committee	1 Deputy)		Deputy: Nathan Evans
24	Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors	1	1:0:0	Michael Young
	(3 year appointment)			(until March 2017)
25	Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE)	7	4:3:0 (Agreed 3:3:1)	Rob Chilton Michael Hyman Bernard Sharp Judith Lloyd Dolores O'Sullivan Laurence Walsh R. Bowker

Organisation		Number of Representatives Required CON:LAB:LD		2015/16 Nominations
		rtoquilou	COMILAD.LD	Councillor(s)
26	Sale Town Centre Partnership	1	1:0:0	Brian Rigby
27	Sharon Youth Association Management Committee	2	2:0:0 (Agreed 1:1:0)	Michael Hyman Ejaz Malik
28	Stretford War Memorial Red Cross Public Nursing Services	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris
29	Stockport, Trafford and Rochdale (STaR) Joint Committee	1 (plus 1 Substitute)	1:0:0	Patrick Myers
			(Executive Member for Finance plus 1 Executive Member to be appointed as a Substitute)	Substitute: Mrs. Laura Evans
30	Teachers Joint Negotiating	4	3:1:0	Mrs. Linda Blackburn
	Committee (Schools)	To be appointed as per the JNC Constitution	(Executive Members for Education, Children's Social Services, Chairman of the Employment Cttee and the Shadow Member for Education)	Michael Hyman Brian Rigby Jane Baugh
31	Timperley Village Club - Management Committee	1 (plus 1 Non- Elected non-	1:0:0	Nathan Evans
		voting Member)		(Non-Elected Member – Mr. Andrew Iredale)
32	Trafford Arts Association	2	2:0:0	Chris Boyes Jonathan Coupe
33	Trafford Children and Young People's Services Strategic Partnership Board	2	2:0:0	Miss Linda Blackburn Michael Hyman
34	Trafford Community Leisure Trust	2	2:0:0	Jonathan Coupe Michael Whetton
35	Trafford Housing Trust Board	3 # proxy vote at AGM	2:1:0	Sean Anstee # John Lamb Joanne Bennett
36	Trafford Sports Council	2	2:0:0	Mike Cornes John Lamb
37	Trans-Pennine Trail	2	2:0:0	Rob Chilton David Hopps
38	University of Manchester – General Assembly	1	1:0:0	Dylan Butt
	(3 year appointment)			(until July 2017)

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2015/16 Nominations	
		Required	CON:LAB:LD	Councillor(s)	
39	University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust (3 year appointment)	University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trus (3 year appointment)	Manchester NHS Foundation Trust	Chris Boyes (until July 2018)	
	*Must not be a member of a local authority's scrutiny committee covering health matters				
40	Victim Support - Trafford (Management Committee)	1	1:0:0	Mrs. Angela Bruer-Morris	
41	Voluntary Community Action Trafford (VCAT)	2	2:0:0	Brian Shaw Mrs. Laura Evans	
	CHARITIES				
42	Ashton-on-Mersey Aid in Sickness Fund	2	2:0:0	John Lamb Brian Rigby	
43	The James Bradshaw Charity and the Bradshaw Educational and Richard Newton Foundations	3	2:1:0	Mrs. June Reilly Mrs. Viv Ward Mrs. Maureen Pickering	
				(3 year appointment until June 2017)	
44	Mayor's Land Charity; New Town Night School Fund; Lloyds Relief in Sickness	3 (Need not be Elected Members)	2:1:0 (The Mayor plus 2)	Dylan Butt John Holden <mark>Ejaz Malik</mark>	
45	Frances Del Panno Trust	As set out		The Mayor Chief Executive & Director of Finance are ex-officio Trustees	
46	Sale Almshouses Trustees	6	4:2:0	Chris Boyes Mrs. Pamela Dixon	
	Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	(Need not be Elected Members)		Mr. David Hopps Michael Whetton Barry Brotherton Phil Gratrix	
47	Sale Charities Management Cttee	As set out		The Chair (or Acting Chair) of the Whitelegg Almshouses, Sale Educational Foundation and Sale Almshouses Charities	
48	Sale Educational Foundation Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.	10 (Need not be Elected Members)	6:4:0	Mrs. Collinson Mrs. Gallimore Chris Boyes David Hopps John Holden Joanne Bennett Barry Brotherton Mike Freeman Andrew Western Mrs. D. Carter	

Organisation		Number of Representatives		2015/16 Nominations	
		Required	CON:LAB:LD	Councillor(s)	
				Councilior(3)	
49	Whitelegg Almshouses – Committee of Management	3	3:0:0	Chris Boyes Rob Chilton John Holden	
	Note: The Charity requests the appointment of Members living in Sale and representing Sale wards.				